A Substitute for Dry White Wine

Here’s a reader question I thought everyone everyone could benefit from by answering on the site. Thank you, J. for asking!

Question: There is a recipe that I am trying/going to make.  The recipe for the dough has “dry white wine” in it.  How can I substitute?

Lemons as substitute for dry white wine

Yvonne’s Answer: Dry white wine usually doesn’t have any sugar (it’s been fermented so long that the sugars have dissipated), which is why it is often used in cooking that doesn’t call for any caramelizing in a dish. To use an alcohol-free substitute, try fresh lemon juice diluted with water (about a 50-50 ratio).  If you can find a sugar-free white grape juice, you can try that, too. Use the same amount in the recipe that calls for white wine. 

*If you want to substitute for white wine only, you can use something like this no-alcohol, kosher-certified juice. This is a bit of a stocking up kind of purchase, but if you only wanted one bottle you might be able to find it in your local grocery store. Please be reminded that it’s important to have Halal, kosher, or vegetarian-certified juices when following a Halal diet because many apple or other juices are clarified using pork gelatin. 

This post may contain affiliate links. If you use these links to buy something I may earn a commission. MyHalalKitchen.com is a participant in the Amazon Services, LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Please see my affiliates disclosure page for more detailed information about the companies with who I am affiliated. 

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get the latest updates & lots of FREE goodies!

Subscribe To My Quick Bites Newsletter

By signing up, you’ll be notified when new recipes and other tasty treats are cooked up in my kitchen!