Tag Archives: gelatin

Agar-Agar: The Halal Alternative to Gelatin

agar agar flakes on plate

Agar Agar is a combination of sea-derived flakes that gels when combined with liquids, making it perfect for vegetarians and those concerned with eating halal since it’s an all-natural substitute for pork-derived gelatin and any other non-halal, non-dhabiha meat source of gelatin (which can also come from beef). Find each kind in health food stores, Asian stores, Indo-Pak stores and ... Read More »

How to Make Flavored Yogurt and Quick Smoothies

Do you ever get inspired to eat healthy, shop healthy and then just try to make everything possible from certain beautiful foods you find at the grocery store or market? Recently I just wanted to use the plethora of strawberries and blueberries I bought on a whim at Costco, and use up my tart plain homemade yogurt in the fridge. Most ... Read More »