Home » Cooking & Baking » Baking Halal 101 » Halal Substitutes in Baking

Halal Substitutes in Baking

Wilton Icing Colors Giveaway & Why It’s Worth it To Contact Food Companies

Wilton Icing Colors MHK Blog Giveaway

I get a lot of questions from readers asking whether or not a product or ingredient is halal. I don’t claim to be a scholar of the fiqh of food or to make any proclamations about whether something is 100% halal (permissible) or haram (forbidden). I ask the experts and find out if a product is halal-certified, as  that is ... Read More »

Agar-Agar: The Halal Alternative to Gelatin

agar agar flakes on plate

Agar Agar is a combination of sea-derived flakes that gels when combined with liquids, making it perfect for vegetarians and those concerned with eating halal since it’s an all-natural substitute for pork-derived gelatin and any other non-halal, non-dhabiha meat source of gelatin (which can also come from beef). Find each kind in health food stores, Asian stores, Indo-Pak stores and ... Read More »